Feature February Author Kathryn R. Biel

This month I am featuring interviews with some of my fellow authors and writers. Let’s start it off with a bang and say hello to Kathryn R. Biel.

KRBiel-Photo

J-Can you tell our audience a little about yourself?

K-I’m a full time mom and wife, a school-based pediatric physical therapist, and because I’ll do anything to avoid cleaning my house, I’m a writer.

J-Wow, I can’t imagine there is time to clean…anything. What genre do you write and why?

K-I write women’s fiction. I think I can tell women’s stories best, being one myself. Sometimes (often) my books have a humorous element, as I like to think I’m funny.

J-Ha, I’m hilarious in my own mind, Kathryn. What is different about your writing style?

K-The comment I get most often is that my characters speak like real people. I think that makes my characters relatable and, hopefully, enjoyable.

J-What books have you published? Can you give us the links?

Good Intentions

Hold Her Down 

I’m Still Here

Jump, Jive, and Wail

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00070]

J-What are you reading right now?

K-I’m reading A Heat of the Moment Thing A Heat of the Moment Thing by Maggie Le Page.

J-What are you working on next?

K-I’m working on my next novel. It’s about a woman who thinks her clairvoyant ability causes people to die. Hopefully it will be out mid-summer.

J-Ooh, that sounds interesting. Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press? Why?

K-I’m self-published. Initially, I self-pubbed while shopping around for an agent and a deal. Now, however, I enjoy the flexibility and control that I have with it.

J-I feel the same way. I like being in control of my work. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

K-I use a lot of my own experiences, especially in Good Intentions (no, it is not a true story). Initially, I did that because I was lazy and didn’t want to do research. Now I use small events or even character traits in my stories.

J-What is your favorite curse word?

K-Fuck

J-Enough said. What is your favorite word to use in writing?

K-Just

J-Oh my, I am guilty of using that word as well. Do you Plot or outline when writing?

K-Nope, total pantser. Sometimes I know exactly what is going to happen, and other times it shocks me. I definitely had that moment in I’m Still Here.

J-Are you a cat or dog person?

K-Cat. I have two—Butch and Sundance.

J-I’m a cat person too. If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

K-Villa in Italy. I think I could be very inspired just by the food and drink alone!

J- That is my first instinct as well. I’ll meet you there with a glass of wine. Thank you, Kathryn.

You can find Kathryn online at the links below.

Oh and here’s a video trailer for JJW: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaUiy7bcOMg
You can find Kathyrn online below. Make sure to check out the links above for her books.
Author Pic
 You can find me online at http://www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com
Happy Reading.
2 thoughts on “Feature February Author Kathryn R. Biel

Leave a Reply

