Feature February Author Allison Winfield

I want to welcome Allison Winfield to the blog today. Allison is a fellow Writing Wench of mine and we worked together on the Writing Wench Holiday Anthology, Unwrapping Love.

Allison Winfield Head Shot

J-Can you tell our audience a little about yourself?

A-I just turned 33. I’m a southern California girl who is living in TN. I’m married and have 5 kids and two dogs. 

J-Wow, five kids. You are a busy lady. What genre do your write and why?

A-I write romance because I’m a sucker for a HEA. 

J-Me too. When did you start writing?

A-One of my first memories is of writing stories. Even then I wrote about HEA but in my stories the Princess always had to rescue the Prince. 

J- I love that. Let’s here it for strong women. What books have you published?

A-My first fiction story was, Stay with Me, published in the Writing Wenches Anthology and my first novel is coming out this year. 

Unwrapping Love Cover
J-Excellent. Keep me posted on the novel. What is a typical day like for you? How do you find time to write?
A-My typical day start with me hitting the snooze once or eight times. After working my day job, I pick my kids up from school and usually run them to soccer practice or something. Then I try to squeeze in some writing either before or after dinner and usually fall asleep by 8:30pm. 
J-Sounds like my day, only I think we are still eating dinner when you doze off. Do you use real-life experiences in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?
A-I definitely use some things from real life in my stories. I’ve had a lot of jobs so I tend to pick something I’ve done for my characters. You may see them as bakery owners, photographers, bar tenders, or teachers. I also base some character traits on people I know but make up pretty much everything else. 
J-Do you plot or outline when writing?
A-To plot or to pants: I usually write up a paragraph or two describing each of my main characters. Then I like to plan the main 4-5 plot points but other than that I tend to fly by the seat of my pants. 
J-Do you listen to music when writing?
A-I love music and currently you can find me listening to either Sam Smith or Pink while I write. 
J-Awesome. What’s next for you?
A-Next Thursday, 2/12, I am hosting an author takeover on the Facebook page of Bex N Books. Not only can you win a $15 amazon giftcard but books from 3 fellow wenches. Check it out https://www.facebook.com/BexnBooks
J-I will see you there. Thank you so much for joining me today, Allison.
You can find Allison online at the links below.
Author Pic
You can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com
Leave a Reply

