Feature February Author Ashlynn Pearce

I’m really excited to have author Ashlynn Pearce with me today. I recently read her new release Fuel and loved it. She’s a friend and an all around awesome human being.

Ashlynn, thank you for being here.

Ashlynn Pearce

J-Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself?

A-Once upon a time…You ain’t gonna believe this sh**! But seriously—scrap that, I’m not serious, but I do love to write. Create characters. Give them hope that there is something better around the corner. It’s my passion. I live and breathe stories. When I’m not arguing with the characters in my head (yes, I do that, you can ask my hubby who thinks I’m nuts btw), I’m taking care of said hubby, my two kids and a melee of furbabies. I’m Okie born and bred and, yes, we get a lot of twisters and, no, there aren’t any teepees around that I’ve seen.

J-What genre do you write and why?

A-I write Romance because it’s all about hope. Because let’s be honest, real life can suck donkey-balls sometimes and we all want that hope that it’s gonna be better. It’s got to be better. Without it, it’s almost impossible to keep going…keep fighting. That’s what all my stories are about. That something better around the corner.

J-I love that. What is different about your writing style?

A-I try to write scared. Meaning, I don’t hold back. If my characters are a certain way or do something that is off the norm I try really hard not to dilute it. I want them in their rawest form. Sometimes it makes me uncomfortable, but I feel like that’s a good thing.

J-I think that is a very cool thing. What are you working on next?

A-I’m currently working on the DirtSlap series.

#1 – FUEL is out.

Fuel Cover

#2 – WRECK is written and in editing stage, out in May 2015

#3 – KRUSH is writing stage and is a short for a summer anthology, out in June 2015

#4 – FIXT and #5 – WIRED are in outlining stage

I also have a bad girl I locked in a padded room because I don’t have time for her right now and I just got the rights back to my first book ROUGH EDGES, which I can’t wait to dig into re-work and re-publish.

J-I loved Fuel and can’t wait for Wreck. Congratulations on regaining your rights. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

A-It’s a combination of both. I write from feeling. So even though I may not have experienced precisely what my characters do, I can relate a feeling to it. Most often there is a lot of angst in my stories, because that’s what I’ve experienced.

J-What is your favorite curse word?

A-Umm, probably hell. I love my Hubs (he is super awesome) but he’s a hoot and he says my favorite saying to him is “What the hell is wrong with you?” lol All in love, I assure you.  

J-That’s awesome. What is your favorite word to use in writing?

A-Eyes. I love to write about the expression in my characters eyes. It might be cliché, but eyes are the windows to the soul.

J-I love eyes as well. I totally get it. Do you plot or outline when writing?

A-I’m a plot/pantser. I do an outline, but it’s more like bullet points of just the big stuff. All the other little stuff just comes to me. I let the characters take over. Currently, my hero in KRUSH just tore my plot all to hell. So we will see where that ends up.

J-Do you listen to music when writing? Name 3 songs on your playlist.

A-YES. I have to have music while writing. And I create a playlist for each book. For KRUSH the first three are 1-Believe by Staind 2-Cold (But I’m still here) by Evans Blue 3-Look in My Eyes by Rains

J-Ooh, I’m going to have to look those up. If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

A-I think an English estate only because it’s close to Scotland.

So if you can’t find Ashlynn, she’s probably hiding out in Scotland.

Here is my review of Fuel on Goodreads.

Thank you, Ashlynn. You can find Ashlynn online at the links below.

http://www.ashlynnpearce.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/ashlynnpearcewriter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Ashlynn_Pearce

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3512149.Ashlynn_Pearce

Amazon Author page: amazon.com/author/ashlynnpearce

Thank you for stopping by. You can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

 

Author Pic

 

2 thoughts on “Feature February Author Ashlynn Pearce

Leave a Reply

