Feature February Author Patricia D. Eddy

Best selling author, Patricia D. Eddy is here with me today. She’s one of my favorite authors, she’s my new editor, and she’s a friend.

Patricia D Eddy Headshot1_sq

J-Thank you, Patricia, for joining me. Can you tell our audience a little bit about yourself?

 

P-I’m a romance author—paranormal, contemporary, and erotic. If characters fall in love, I write it. I’ve even got a lesbian paranormal romance published. I live in Seattle, Washington with my husband and three cats. Oh, and I have a full time job too. I don’t get a lot of sleep. Or downtime. I’m addicted to coffee, love red wine and good scotch, and have a single piece of chocolate almost every night.

 

J-Do you only write romance? Why?

 

P-I write love stories in all forms. I started with paranormal, and that’s still my first love, but lately, I’ve branched out into contemporary romance as well—military heroes and the strong women who love them. I also have an erotic romance series which is my answer to Fifty Shades of Grey.

 

I write romance because I love the idea of falling in love. I suppose it’s because I fell in love late in life. My husband (my second husband) and I fell in love during my 31st year, so I know what it’s like to start over as an adult and remake myself. Renewal, growth, and overcoming odds also factor quite heavily into my novels.

 

J-What books have you published?

 

P-My first book was By the Fates, Freed. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D9FX86G

My lesbian paranormal romance is in the same series and it’s called Destined. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H0K5D96

 

I also have a vampire series – Secrets in Blood is out now and I’m writing Revelations in Blood currently. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F8KAR9Q

 

My erotic romance series is the Restrained series and its first book is In His Silks. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KSNRZFC

 

Bestseller status was achieved with A Shift in the Water, an urban fantasy (with a solid romance in it) set in Seattle. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MXBBTQS

shift_promoPE

 

And finally, my newest series is the Holiday and Heroes series. Mistletoe and Mochas is the story of Mac and Devan. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OXAOZE0 Love and Libations is set in Seattle and is the story of Lilah, an abused woman who must find the courage to leave her boyfriend. Garrett James, a local bartender and an army veteran amputee, finds her a year later and sparks fly between them. Love and Libations is now available for Pre-Order. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RSDC1RM

LoveLibationsCoverPE

J-I loved Shift and can’t wait for the next one. In His Silks was amazingly hot, and Mistletoe and Mochas was a great holiday read. Destined was the first book of yours I read. Dark, but really good. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

P-I get up at six in the morning and take the bus to the gym. I try to get in 500 words on the trip. After a workout, I spend the next eight hours working the grind – aka the day job. I take the bus back home, try to get another 500 words in, and then it’s dinner, seeing my husband, getting gym clothes together, answering email, scheduling social media posts for the next day, answering more emails, editing (I’m also a professional editor), more emails, marketing, and then bed.

 

J-What are you working on next?

 

P-I’m working on the sequel to A Shift in the Water, called A Shift in the Air. It’s Liam’s story and it’s set in Ireland. I’m actually headed to Ireland for research in a little over a week. I hope to write at least half of the book while I’m there. It’s not often I can write “in place” and in a place like Dublin, but I can’t wait.

 

J-That’s very cool. I love that you are going to write on location. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

P-Yes. To both. I tend to dream (or imagine) the vast majority of my plots, but the characters themselves often draw a lot from my own life. They either have character traits that I want to have, traits that I do have, or have undergone experiences that I want to experience or have experienced. For example, in Love and Libations, Lilah McKinney is in an abusive relationship. Her relationship, though it was fictionalized and dramatized for the book, is one of my past relationships.

Evangeline, a character in Secrets in Blood, embodies who I want to be.

Mara from A Shift in the Water, has to deal with some health scares that mimic some of the things I’ve dealt with (though thankfully, mine were significantly less serious). Elizabeth from In His Silks, is who I want to be in the bedroom.

I both write what I know and what I want to know.

 

J-Yeah, I wouldn’t mind being Elizabeth from In His Silks either, as long as Alexander is there. What is your favorite curse word?

 

P-Shitballs. Fuck is a close second.

 

J-Are you a cat or dog person?

 

P-Cats! To be fair, I love dogs too. One of these days, we’ll get a dog, but we’ll have to run it by the three cats first.

 

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

P-Ooo. I’d pick a Villa in Italy. For the wine.

 

J-Yes. I love Italy. I’ll meet you there. Tell us a funny story about you that we can’t find on your bio.

 

P-I don’t do funny well. In fact, if I get one funny line in an entire book, it’s a miracle. But, here’s something that most people probably wouldn’t expect.

I signed up for a triathlon five years ago because I couldn’t swim. I figured if I signed up, it would force me to learn and yep. It worked. I now have a nice little collection of triathlon medals.

 

J-That’s a great story. I think if I participated in a triathlon, I would pass out before the first event was over and I’ve been a swimmer all my life. Thank you so much for taking the time to answer a few questions. Have a great time in Ireland. Make sure to come back though.

Patricia is having a release party on Facebook for her new release, Love and Libations on February 12th and you are all invited. Click on the photo to join the party.

LL Release party banner PE

You can find Patricia online at the links below. I highly recommend her books.
Author Pic
If you’re looking for me, you will find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com
Leave a Reply

