Feature February Author Interview A.E. Snow

I am very excited to introduce my friend and fellow Writing Wench, A. E. Snow. Thank you so much for joining me today.

AE Snow authorphoto

J-Can you tell our readers a little about yourself?

A-I’d love to! I’m a work-at-home-mom and I have two incredible children who light up my life. I’m not married to my best friend, but he runs a close second. Writing is all I really ever want to do, but I also work as a book marketing manager at Booktrope and I copy edit things. My favorite food is pizza and I love coffee above almost everything else.

 

J-Oh, I may have some copy edit stuff for you soon. What genre do you write and why?

 

A-I have serious trouble sticking to one genre. It’s a marketing nightmare. I write a little chick lit and a little YA. All contemporary right now, but I have plans to change that! YA is my passion, but I really enjoy romance and chick lit. After I finish formatting a research paper about pollution in Beijing and imminent doom, I want to write about happy things.

 

J-What books have you published?

 

A-I’m very pleased to have a brand new novella out. That Touch of Pink was so much fun to write and there are plans for a series. Please visit my website to find out more! www.aesnowauthor.wordpress.com

Legs of the groom and the bride.

This summer, my YA contemporary, Meadow Perkins, Trusty Sidekick will be released from Soul Mate Publishing.

My short story, Miles and Mae, was published in December alongside shorts by some of my favorite people on earth, the Writing Wenches. Unwrapping Love is out now. It’s a holiday anthology but I personally am a year-round Christmas person.

Unwrapping Love Cover

J-I loved working on that anthology. It was so much fun. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

A-My children are two and four and there is never a dull moment. I juggle kids, pets, work, writing, housekeeping (HAHA), and Pinterest. It’s a full load. Two days a week, I take my kids to preschool and I am very blessed to have an amazing babysitter, as well. It helps that my husband doesn’t mind that ignore him every night from 8-10 pm so I can write or edit.

 

J-That is about where I’m at as well. About two hours a day and that includes blogging. So yeah, tough to find time. What are you reading right now?

 

A-I’m always reading multiple books. My current list: Jump, Jive, and Wail by Kathryn Biel; The Elite by Kiera Cass; Yes, Please by Amy Poehler; and The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. Oh and I’m halfway through Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. I might have a problem.

 

J-I love Keira Cass and still need to read the third and fourth book in that series. Jump, Jive, and Wail is also on my list. So many books, so little time. What are you working on next?

 

A-I’m writing the second novella in my Retro Romance series as well as two shorts. One is for the upcoming Writing Wenches summer anthology and a really fun witchy story for another anthology out around Halloween. I’m editing a YA thriller and plotting two YA novels that might just fall in the magical realism category. I’m not busy at all.

 

J-I love the anthologies, they are challenging, but so much fun. Your Retro Romance series sounds awesome and I can’t wait to read it. (cough, arc please, cough) Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press? Why?

 

A-I’m both traditionally published and self-published! My novella is self-published and I plan to self-pub all six of the novellas in my Retro Romance series. My YA novel is with Soul Mate Publishing.

 

J-Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

A-I often write things that are loosely based on my experiences. I have a full range of things to choose from. My imagination is pretty active too. Usually, my writing is a little of both. Mashing up events in my life and the ones I invent is really fun.

 

J-Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?

 

A-Always. Unless I’m writing late at night and people are trying to sleep. Ziggy Stardust – David Bowie. I will always love this song to pieces. It’s a perennial favorite. Blank Space – Taylor Swift. She got to me too. Wuthering Heights – Kate Bush. My kids love this song which cracks me up.

 

J-Are you a cat or dog person?

 

A-I’ve always been a cat person and I’ve rescued my limit (says my family). My cat Sam is 12 and weighs over 30 lbs. I love him. Sylvie-Hazel picked out her own name which says a lot about both of us. I found Rugby on a bridge. He has special needs, is half-blind, and is completely obnoxious. For some reason, we decided to add a dog to our circus so we now have a huge German Shepherd named Job. She was named after Job from Arrested Development back when we thought she was a boy. I added Elizabeth to her name to try and undo some of the psychological damage from that and so I’d have two names to yell when she gets in trouble which is all the time. Job Elizabeth!

 

J-Yeah, I’m a cat person myself, but that is a lot of cats. Thanks A.

 

A.E. Snow is a writer, mother, pet wrangler, and lives for books and publishing. She lives in a tiny mountain town with her husband, two children, three cats, a dog, and a partridge in a pear tree. A.E. has been writing since she was six. These days, she writes Young Adult, Chick-lit and Romance. Her novella, That Touch of Pink is out Feb 12, 2015!

You can find A. E. Snow online at the links below.

Website http://www.aesnowauthor.wordpress.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/aesnowauthor

Twitter https://twitter.com/aesnowauthor

Author Pic

As always you can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Feature February Author Interview A.E. Snow

Leave a Reply

