Feature February Author Rebekah R. Ganiere

Happy Friday the 13th, everyone. Today, I am speaking with one of my favorite paranormal and fantasy writers, Rebekah R. Ganiere. When I realized we had a Friday the 13th this month, I immediately contacted her and asked her for an interview.

Rebekah R. Ganiere photo

J-Thank you for joining me today, Rebekah. Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself?

 

R-I’m Rebekah R. Ganiere a SAHM of 4 whom I homeschool. I love to write, read, sew and eat caramels while I drink tea.

 

J-What genre do you write and why?

 

R-I write Paranormal Romance, Fantasy Romance, Urban Fantasy and Steampunk. I write them because that’s what I’ve always loved and always read and I’ve had so many ideas pop into my head in those genres that anything else just feels dull.

 

J-What’s different about your writing style?

 

R-I don’t know. I hear that I have a strong sense of fantasy and that my worlds are very well built. I have always had more guy friends than girls so my male characters and POV’s are strong and very realistic.

 

J-I can tell you from my experience with the Farielle series, that your worlds are very strong. When did you start writing?

 

R-I wrote poetry as a child and stories and then short stories in high school, but it wasn’t till about 4 years ago that I really started to write novels.

 

J-Wow, for a short time, you have really done a lot. What books have you published?

R-I have the Fairelle Series, Red the Were Hunter, Snow the Vampire Slayer and Jamen’s Yuletide Bride. The next book in the series Zelle and the Tower, will be release in April. I also have Dead Awakenings which was my first novel and then the first book in my series The Society came out a few months ago with Kensington. You can find a list of my books on Amazon.

Snow the Vampire Slayer Cover

J-I love the Fairelle series. I’ve read each book in the series, and I’m anxiously awaiting the release of Zelle and the Tower. Oh, and I love your book trailers. For anyone curious, check this out.

 

J-That was awesome. Sorry, I’ll stop fangirling and ask a few more questions. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

R-Haha. My weeks aren’t typical. My oldest daughter gets up at 5:30 to go to seminary for church and then we all getup around 7-7:30 and eat and clean up until 9:00. Then class starts and we work till 11:00. We have lunch from 11:00-12:00 then read for 30 minutes and clean up for 30 minutes. Then we have school from 1:00-3:00. From there it’s dance competition team and piano and violin and orchestra. Auditions, because two of my kids act in Hollywood. Acting classes, church classes, and then home. Dinner, bed. It’s pretty crazy! I write everywhere and anywhere I can. During my kids breaks, while they sit next to me and do their books. At night, on weekends. You name it.

 

J-Oh my gosh, that is crazy. I can’t imagine doing all of that in one day and finding time to write or read for that matter. What are you reading right now?

 

R-I actually can’t say because I’m judging a contest.

 

J-Bummer. Okay, what are you working on next?

R-I’m working on my next Fairelle book, Zelle and the Tower. About Rapunzelle. And I have a short story for an anthology that a group of us are doing for our RT Fantasy Tea Party J It’s a Wonderland story.

 

J-Ooo. I love the Wonderland idea. That should be fun. Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press? Why?

 

R-Self published, Small Pub and Traditional. I’m a wild girl. I like to try it all. So I decided to give everything a shot to see what I liked best.

 

J-Excellent. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

R-Absolutely I use experiences. I constantly find myself analyzing how things feel so I can try to describe them. I use people, mannerisms, memories, you name it.

 

J-What is your favorite curse word?

 

R-I don’t curse sorry. But in my books the only ones I really use are dammit and hell.

 

J-What is your favorite word to use in your writing?

 

R-Oh man. According to wordle, my over used words are always, Hand, Felt, Door, Eyes and Back. However I really like the word Suddenly. My fist book had it in there about 30 times. LOL! Yeah I had to remove those.

 

J-I think we all do that and don’t realize it until we use that little find prompt. I can’t tell you how many words I have on my editing list to watch out for as far as over usage. Do you plot or outline when writing?

 

R-I do a very brief outline in the beginning. If I find I’m struggling with a book, I’ll plot out a large outline. But I never do more than that because I am a pantser by heart, and when I try to get too strict with my characters they rebel. It isn’t pretty.

 

J-Haha. Do you listen to music while writing?

 

R-Yes. Always. I have a lot of Pink’s music on my list. Because she’s a strong female. Say Something, is on there right now. Darkside, Bleeding Love, Jar of Hearts, Sia, Katy Perry, Fun, Live, Jason Maraz, Jordin Sparks, Train, Green Day.

 

J-Good list. Are you a cat or dog person?

 

R-Dog and reptile.

 

J-Now that is the first time someone this month has said reptile. I don’t know if I could sleep knowing a snake was in the house. Moving on…If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

R-Oh man! Uh… If I can’t pick Scotland or Ireland I have to choose Italy. I LOVE Italy!

 

J-Okay, so we know if you MIA, to search in Scotland or Ireland. I love Italy too. Tell us a funny story that we can’t find on your bio.

 

R-Well how about this! This week I am at the LTUE convention in Utah. It’s my first convention that I’m on several panels. And this last Saturday I decided to spruce myself up. So I waxed my eyebrows myself and wasn’t paying attention and waxed off half of one of my eyebrows… Yup! Welcome to my life!

 

J-Haha. Yeah, stuff like that happens, and always seems to when you have something important to do, doesn’t it. Thank you for joining me today, Rebekah. I want to hear all about the convention when you get back.

 

You can find Rebekah online at the links below.

Website: http://rebekahganiere.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VampiresWerewolvesZombies

Twitter: https://twitter.com/vampwerezombie

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7690616.Rebekah_R_Ganiere

Author Pic

As always, you can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

Have a great weekend.

One thought on “Feature February Author Rebekah R. Ganiere

  1. Pingback: Zelle and the Tower Release Day | Author Jennifer Senhaji

Leave a Reply

