Feature February Author Keisha Page

It is a great pleasure to introduce you to my friend and fellow Writing Wench, Keisha Page. She is a very busy lady, so I am honored she took the time to speak with me today.

Keisha Page

J-Keisha, thank you for joining me. Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself?

 

K-I always hate that question. I’m 42, a married mom of 5 and social media manager. I help businesses and authors use social media to build their brand. I’m getting ready to launch a website to help people learn to nurture the social part of their business, or decide when it’s time to bring in help. Looking at my personal life, I have wild dreams of being this hippie earth mother Goddess-type, but they’re usually derailed by picky children who won’t eat whole wheat pancakes no matter how much syrup I put on them, and my cravings for orange soda.

 

J-Haha. I love picking your brain with my SEO questions. What genre do you write and why?

 

K-Romance. The people who are telling the stories in my head insist on falling in love with each other. In truth, I’m pretty romantic, and between working full time, busy kids, and managing the house, there’s just not a lot of time for romance. So I make it happen for the voices in my head.

 

J-What is different about your writing style?

 

K-My writing style is always evolving. My first short, Rhythm of Love, was so “formal” that my editor had to tell me to add contractions. It’s a fluid, growing thing, which I love.

 

J-I have the same issue. I constantly have to remind myself to contract and use more casual language in my contemporary writing. When did you start writing?

 

K-I started writing in high school. I was published in our school’s literary publication, which I also edited. I wrote horrible angst-filled prose about poverty, corruption, and boys.

 

J-What have you published as an adult?

 

K-As of today’s date, I’ve published Rhythm of Love, available in the Writing Wenches anthology, Unwrapping Love.

Unwrapping Love Cover

J-I love that book and I loved your story. Leslie was a great character and so  easy to identify with. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

K-I work full time, but I have two nights a week where my husband cooks and handles kid duty so I can write. Usually, it works.

 

J-That sounds familiar. What are you reading right now?

 

K-Love and Libations by Patricia Eddy, and Travels with Penny by David Alan Morrison.

 

J-What are you working on next?

 

K-I’m currently writing a short, called Breaking The Horizon, for the next Writing Wenches anthology, and my first novel will be out in September. It’s called Voices In The Wind.

 

J-Exciting. Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press?

 

K-Unwrapping Love was published through PageCurl, which is a vanity press. They will also be handling the next anthology. My novel will be indie.

 

J-Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

K-It’s mostly a mixture of both. Every character I write has a piece of me, or someone I know, in them. Leslie in Rhythm of Love, Sarah in Breaking The Horizon, and Bridget in Voices In The Wind are all older women, like me, and I’ve been divorced, like Leslie. But their experiences are mostly uniquely their own. I’ve never been to New York, where most of Rhythm of Love takes place, and Bridget has some life experiences that I hope I never have to share.

 

J-I love that. What is your favorite curse word?

 

K-Fuck Monkey.

 

J-What is your favorite word to use while writing?

 

K-Laughed, according to my editor.

 

J-Do you plot or outline when writing?

 

K-No. I’ve tried, but just can’t get there. I find that if I try to plot beforehand, and things change, I fight against that change for the sake of the plot I just wrote down. I do run dialogue and such while I’m folding the laundry or walking the dogs…which is kind of embarrassing when someone catches me.

 

J-The talking to yourself thing, yeah I do that too. Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?

 

K-Absolutely. Music is a mainstay in my life. My current playlist includes “Summertime Sadness” by Lana delRey, “Would” by Alice in Chains and the latest album by Queensryche.

 

J-Are you a cat or dog person?

 

K-Both.

 

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

K-I’ve actually lived in a cabin before, and between wild animals (bears LOVE trash), chopping wood for heat (cabins have no insulation, and generally aren’t centrally heated) and the huge amounts of snow, the romance is pretty much gone from that one. I’ll take a Beach House!

 

J-Haha, good reason. Tell us a funny story about you that we can’t find on your bio.

 

K-Don’t all good stories start with “This one night I was out drinking with friends”? Well, this one is no different. I used to be the only paid employee for a volunteer fire department. My job was all of the administrative mess that the volunteer firefighters, who were already giving of their time away from work and family, didn’t have time to deal with, like filing and submitting paperwork to various agencies and insurance companies and stuff like that. Every year, the fundraising arm of the department, called an auxiliary, put together a dinner to show the firefighters how much the community appreciated them. One year, the dinner was held in a hotel that had a rather nice bar, and after the dinner, I was invited to hang out with a bunch of them in the bar. The evening progressed pretty well until one of them started buying everyone shots of Patron. I had four. Which was four too many. By the end of the evening, I was, as they say, “ten feet tall and bulletproof.” I got in an argument, and almost went to blows, with a guy who is about a foot taller than me and outweighs me by a good little bit. That was the last night that I drank Patron. I haven’t been bulletproof since.

 

J-Tell us a funny story about one of your characters that was not included in Rhythm of Love.

 

K-In rock band circles, just the fact that Alex is the bass player, and got laid, is a funny story. The joke is that bass players don’t get laid; most groupies want to be able to drop names, and no one ever knows the name of the bass player.

 

J-Ha, that is so true.

Thanks, Keisha. You can find Keisha online at the links below.

Author Pic
You can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com
2 thoughts on “Feature February Author Keisha Page

Leave a Reply

