Feature February Author Rachel Medhurst

Rachel is a friend and author from across the pond, and has agreed to stop by today for a little chat. She has several books published, and has a very hectic publishing schedule planned for this year.

Rachel Photo

J-Rachel, thank you so much for joining me. Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself?

 

R-My name is Rachel Medhurst and I’m typically British. I have pale skin with dark hair and dark eyes. I’m a little bit weird, but I think that comes with being a writer. I have a little dog and when I’m not writing, I’m walking him in the English fields.

 

J-What genre do you write and why?

 

R-I write mainly fantasy romance. I always like to have a message of hope in my stories and I think that’s why I write the books I do. I never really set out to write fantasy, but when I put pen to paper, that’s what seems to come out.

 

J-What is different about your writing style?

 

R-A friend of mine described my writing as innocent. I wasn’t quite sure what she meant by that, but I’ll take her word for it. I think simplistic is the style of my writing. Hopefully it’s simplistically good.

 

R-What books have you published? 

 

I’ve published a trilogy called The Deadliners, which is about spirits that play fate with human lives: http://www.amazon.com/Deadliners-Spirits-Trilogy-Book-ebook/dp/B00K5OKIYE

 

I love writing and publishing my serial Avoidables. I release one episode a month and it’s about Avoidables and Perfects trying to live in harmony. The first book is free: http://www.amazon.com/Avoidables-Dystopian-Fantasy-Rachel-Medhurst-ebook/dp/B00KSNK3NS

Avoidables1right (333x500)

I’ve also published a novella with a British publishers called Salt Publishing. Choice! Is a Modern Dreams novella and is the only nonfiction book I’ve released: http://www.amazon.com/Choice-Modern-Dreams-Rachel-Medhurst-ebook/dp/B00P2RWCK2

 

J-I’ve read three of the Avoidables series which was good. I still have Deadliners on my shelf that I need to get to as soon as possible. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

R-I’ve just started to write full time, so I get up at about 7am and start writing almost straight away. I write for 2 hours solid and then get up and have some breakfast and take the dog round the block. I then do some marketing or other author work for the rest of the day. I’m really enjoying it so far!

 

J-That is awesome, I’m somewhat envious of you, although I will need to sell a few more (read a lot more) books to write full time. What are you reading right now?

 

R-I’ve just finished Ticker by Lisa Manchev. I wasn’t sure at first, but once I got into it, I really enjoyed it.

 

J-What are you working on next?

 

R-I’ve just finished the first book in my new series called Zodiac Twin Flames. Pisces is the first novel and I really love the character because I’m a Pisces too. I will be started the next book Aries very soon and can’t wait for the series to start to be released in the spring.

 

J-Yeah, Pisces rule. Can you tell I’m a Pisces as well? Seriously, I love the idea of this series. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

R-I use both experiences and imagination. No matter how much experience someone has had, a writer will be able to embellish it to suit their story telling.

 

J-Are you a cat or dog person?

 

R-I’m a dog person, although I would like to have a cat too! To be honest, I’m just an animal person.

 

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

R-I would choose a cabin in the woods in the summer in North America somewhere as I’ve only been to New York and I live next to an English Estate in Surrey.

Well, if you ever do, I have a copy of Deadliners I need you to sign for me. Thanks, Rachel.

You can find Rachel online at the links below.

 

Leave a Reply

