Feature February Author Tami Lund

I would like to introduce you to one of my favorite authors, Tami Lund. She was one of the first authors I met when I got ready to publish and has been a friend ever since.

tami

J-Thank you for joining me today. Can you tell our audience a little about yourself?

T-My name is Tami Lund, and once upon a time, I wanted to be a writer. Then life and insecurities got in the way. Then that same life threw me a curve ball (in the form of the recession, which caused me to be laid off from “the real world” for fifteen months), and the desire to write became all-consuming, until I finally gave in, wrote a few dozen manuscripts, decided they were reasonably good enough to be published, and I haven’t looked back since. Oh yeah, and I have a husband, two kids, a spoiled rotten dog, and when I peel myself away from the computer, I’m usually cleaning up after everyone else in my family, occasionally gardening, rarely cooking, daily walking my dog, and sometimes paying attention to the kids and husband.

J-For the benefit of our readers, what genre do you write and why?

T-I write contemporary romance – almost always with some sort of suspenseful aspect, and paranormal romance. Mostly, that’s what I love to read. And I have a crazy overactive imagination, so there is no way I could possibly continuously write “real world” stuff.

J-What books have you published?

T-I’ve published quite the selection of books, so it might be easiest to give you the Amazon link to my author page:

J-What are you working on next?

T-There’s always something! First, I’ve written a sexy short story called Separation Anxiety, which I am only going to make available on my website (http://tamilund.com) and through my newsletter (which you can sign up for on my website). My plan is to offer it up in time for Valentine’s Day.

SeperationAnxiety

After that, the third in the Lightbearer series (Light Beyond the Darkness) is scheduled for release in May. Then, I start a brand new shifter series in June. (If you’re a fan of the Lightbearers, don’t worry, there will be plenty more books.) After that, I’ll be part of a Halloween anthology about witches, which is scheduled to release on October first. I’m also working on the third in the Tough Love series, but I don’t have a scheduled release date for that one yet. I need to finish it first.

 

J-I can’t wait until Light Beyond the Darkness comes out, I love that series. Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

T-I use real life experiences all the time. Usually, my best story ideas – even the paranormal ones – come from real life experiences. Lucky for me, my friends all laugh whenever I say, “This is going into one of my books!”

J-What is your favorite curse word?

T-I’m not gonna lie. I love the f-bomb. There is no mistaking your passion, when you insert the word fuck into a sentence.

J-Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?

T-Oh my God, I am so much more focused when I have earbuds in my ears. Not that my playlist is particularly romantic. I listen to a combination of hard rock, blues, alternative rock, and (just to really confuse people) nineties hair bands. Yes, yes, I’m strange. Three songs on my current playlist? Words Are Weapons – Seether; This is the Time – Nothing More; My Songs Know What You Did Last Night – Fall Out Boy.

J-I love Fall Out Boy. Music is such a great way to tune out everything around you and write. Are you a cat or dog person?

T-I love both, I wish I had one of each, but the hubs has some weird, undiagnosed and therefore untreated issue with cats. So we have a dog. Just a dog. Which, to tell you the truth, is okay, because she is not unlike having a spoiled rotten, hyperactive third kid.

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

T-Beach house. Doesn’t even have to be in the Virgin Islands.

J-Tell us a funny story about you that we can’t find on your bio.

T-In the early years, when I was still treading the murky waters of self-publishing, I was embarrassed over my choice to write romance (crazy, I know). I had recently self-published the first in The Resort series, and had finally started admitting to my inner circle of friends that I had books available to read, if they were so inclined. At a party comprised of mostly friends I had met through my kids’ school, one of the dads came up to me, iPad in hand, and told me he downloaded my book and it was surprisingly good. A small crowd gathered, and he read a passage that wasn’t exactly PG… Resulting in at least thirty minutes of teasing due to the redness of my face. Yeah, that happened.

J-That’s a great story. Particularly because it was a dad. Haha.

You can find Tami online at the links below. I’ve read several of her books and I know you will enjoy them. I can’t wait for the next Light Bearer Book.

www.tamilund.com

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorTamiLund

https://twitter.com/TamiLundAuthor

You can also find her on Tumblr, Google+, Pinterest, Linked In…yep, she is everywhere.

Author Pic

You can find me online at http://www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

