Feature February Author Sonja Frojdendal

I am pleased to have my sexy Swede, Ms. Sonja Frojdendal here today.

Sonja Pic

 

S-Hi Jennifer! Thank you so much for having me here, I am excited to be here. This is my first author interview so be kind will you.

 

J-Of course. I love that picture of you, by the way. So cute. Can you tell our readers a little bit about yourself?

 

S-Tell you a little about me? Where to start? I am born and raised in Sweden. Five siblings with two different mothers, I´m the only writer so far. No family of my own so it is very peaceful at my place. I get to be the cool aunt though, to four bundles of joy.

 

J-What genre do you write and why?

 

S-At the moment I write contemporary romance and that is all thanks to my lovely friends over at Writing Wenches. I have written poetry, still do at times. On my to do list is a few fantasy/paranormal stories, they wait for me to finish my current works. I might have a history novel in the mix somewhere too.

 

J-What is different about your writing style?

 

S-A swede trying to write in English without the help of a translator? Hehe. I have no idea what is different. My writing comes from my heart, I write what is dear to me. If that is different from others then so be it, not that I think so. I think we all write what is in our hearts.

 

J-When did you start writing?

 

S-I think I started as soon as I learned how to write. But it was only ten plus years ago I started writing with the purpose of publishing. With that said it took me until 2013 to publish my first book.

 

J-What have you published?

 

S-My first baby that saw the light, Young Years, it´s from my youth so it is an insight to my thoughts then. http://www.amazon.com/Young-Years-Sonja-Frojdendal-ebook/dp/B00GBJWSVS

Last December, I published a short story in the anthology Unwrapping Love by the Writing Wenches, we had a lot of fun writing this. http://www.amazon.com/Unwrapping-Love-Grace-Ravel-ebook/dp/B00P72UUGK

Unwrapping Love Cover

 

J-What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

S-A typical day/week is me going to the day job, which pays the bills so far. When I get home I take some time to unwind from the “boring” job and check up on my friends all over the world. That I use Facebook and Twitter for, sometimes that time gets a bit long but it always brightens my day. One or two of my projects are always open to work on, you never know when inspiration hits. Oh, pen and paper is following me around in case of an emergency. The voice recorder on my phone is a great tool if you can´t write anything down. Which has happened to me. I suffer from psoriasis arthritis in my fingers and hands and so they don´t comply with what I want all the time.

 

J-What are you reading right now?

 

S-I have a few books that I’m reading at the moment. Hammarsmans dotter by Ronnie Lundin, a Swedish author. Written in My Own Hearts Blood by Diana Gabaldon, love her books. I got an ARC from an author that I can´t mention yet, love when I find new books and authors. I am about to start Jump, Jive, and Wail by Kathryn R. Biel, one of the wenches. And I have to start Eldbunden by Ylva Lee Lindell, another Swedish author and a review copy. No one of them is from the same genre. Obviously I don´t like being put under a label.

 

J-Excellent. What are you working on next?

 

S-At the moment I am working on another story for a Writing Wenches anthology. This is due out this summer, no publishing date yet. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter or on our webpage and you will get all the details.

I am also working on a fantasy/paranormal short for another anthology. This one will be released this fall sometime.

 

J-Are you self-published or traditionally published?

 

S-My first book is self-published. The anthology was published through PageCurl Publishing and Promotion. It seemed easier to do it this way and it was.

 

J-Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing, or does it all come from your imagination?

 

S-I put in experiences from my life into my writing, there is too many fun things going on not to make them last a lifetime or longer. My imagination is running wild so it happens that some of the things I see or hear gets written a bit over the top.

 

J-Ha. I love that. What is your favorite curse word?

 

S-My favourite curse word is bollocks but I use crap mostly. And I use the English word, have too many kids around to curse in Swedish. Hehe.

 

J-The children! Okay, as long as they can’t understand, although I wouldn’t be surprised if they go home saying Oh crap! one of these days. Kids pick up on stuff like that, even if they don’t know exactly what it means. What word do you love to use in your writing?

 

S-The word I use is just. I have a bad habit of putting that one in all over the manuscript.

 

J-I have been guilty of using just also. It’s just one of those words I just love to write. See what I mean. It’s on my editing checklist. Do you plot or outline?

 

S-I rarely plot or outline my writing. Having said that I found a story that I´ve done a somewhat outline on, I didn´t even remember writing it. My style is I get an idea and I start writing. I get as surprised as the reader of where it goes or when it ends.

 

J-Do you listen to music when writing? If so, name three songs on your current playlist.

 

S-I have music playing to get inspired. Paramore – Decode, Fall Out Boy – My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark, Ed Sheeran – Small Bump.

 

J-Okay, I have to tell you I went to see Paramore and Fall Out Boy last year together and they were amazing, although for me, Paramore stole the show. Are you a dog or cat person?

 

S-I am a dog person. Don´t mind cats though.

 

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

S-A writing retreat with only these four choices have to be the cabin in the woods.

 

J-Tell us a funny story that we can’t learn about you from your bio.

 

S-I embarrass my friends in public by starting to dance or play without warning.

 

J-Ha. Tell us something about one of your characters that was not included in the book.

 

S-Alex, from A Fresh Start, has quotes from her favourite books tattooed on her left arm.

 

That’s pretty cool. Thank you, darling for stopping by. One of these days we will need to get together in person somehow.

You can find Sonja online at the links below.

www.facebook.com/sonjafrojdendalauthhor

www.twitter.com/frjdendalsonja

www.pinterst.com/frojdendal

Instagram: @Methis74

www.writingwenches.com

Author Pic

I’m all over the place, but my main address online is www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

 

Leave a Reply

