Feature February Author Meredith Tate

My friend and fellow author, Meredith Tate is here today to talk about writing and her brand new book releasing March 3rd, Missing Pieces.

Meredith Tate

J-Thank you for being here today, Meredith. Can you tell our readers a little about yourself?

 

M-Sure! My name is Meredith, I’m a twenty-something New Hampshire girl currently living in St. Louis, Missouri with my husband. I have a master’s degree in social work, and worked in the mental health field for several years. I love books, traveling to new places, playing the piano, and going on adventures. My life goal is to travel to all seven continents. I’m allergic to potato skins (isn’t that the most random allergy ever?). I’m probably Dunkin Donuts’ best customer. I’m currently working as a full time writer, and I love my job. My first novel MISSING PIECES comes out on March 3.
J-That may in fact be the most random allergy ever. Congratulations on your upcoming release. What genre do you write and why?

 

M-This is such a tough question for me because I’m struggling to pick a single genre. MISSING PIECES is a New Adult Dystopian Romance; my second book I recently finished polishing is a Young Adult Sci-fi Thriller; my two “work in progress” projects are a Young Adult Fantasy and a Young Adult Psychological Thriller. I also have ideas for a Horror book, a Romance book, and a Sci-fi that takes place on the moon. Basically, I’m all over the place. I think I tend to gravitate toward writing speculative fiction (anything that doesn’t take place in our current world as we know it) and darker subject matter, because that’s what I usually like to read. Stories full of twists and death? Yes please! But who knows? I love books of all genres, and can see myself in the future writing across the boards.

 

J-That’s great. I love reading about places and times different than my own. What books have you published?

 

M-My debut novel MISSING PIECES comes out on March 3rd through Omnific Publishing (a partner of Simon & Schuster). Here it is: http://books.simonandschuster.com/Missing-Pieces/not-available/9781623421793

Missing Pieces Cover Meredith Tate

You can also add it on Goodreads here! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24903132-missing-pieces?from_search=true

 

J-And… it’s added to my Goodreads list. When did you start writing?

 

M-I’ve been writing since I was little. I was the nerdy kid who got excited when our teacher made us write poetry in class. I used to write short fantasy stories a lot in high school, only 4-5 pages, and then never finish them. I wrote my first novel in college, and it’s currently in a drawer where it belongs (although someday I’d like to go back and rewrite it!). It’s something I’ve always loved, and always knew I wanted to someday pursue!

 

J-What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

M-Last year when I was working full time in social work, my schedule was a mess. I’d wake up at 7am, get to work at 9, get home from work around 5:30-6, have dinner, and then literally sit and write or edit until 11pm-midnight every night. My social life was abysmal (although my characters’ lives were hopping). I was also in the process of planning my wedding. I really didn’t have time to write, so I had to make time, squeezing it in whenever possible. In June when we moved across the country I was lucky enough to have the chance to start writing full time. I think my friends think I sit at home on Facebook all day in my pajamas, but I really do spend all day working (although sometimes in my pajamas). Usually I break up my day into writing, editing, working on promo stuff for MISSING PIECES, reading manuscripts for my critique partners, and responding to emails from my publicist / reviewers / editor / critique partners. If I can’t focus at home, there’s this great local coffee shop I’ll sometimes go to with my laptop (although they recently took the kids’ menu grilled cheese off their menu, not cool).

 

 

J-I recently spent two weeks at home on sick leave, and I can tell you just from those two weeks that I didn’t get as much writing done as I thought I would. Writing, blogging, researching, editing, plotting, marketing, all take up so much time. It really is a full time job. What are you working on next?

 

M-My current work in progress is a young adult fantasy story. After that? Who knows! One of the other eighteen ideas burning a hole in my “book idea” folder.

 

J-Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press? Why?

 

M-I am traditionally published. I really wanted the experience of having a team collaborate on my book, so I was really lucky that my awesome publisher liked the story and wanted to offer me a contract.

 

J-Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

M-I write mostly speculative fiction, so most of the settings and plots come from my imagination. However, I pull a lot of character quirks and dynamics from my own experiences. I think that’s why for authors, sharing your writing is so personal and often difficult, because there’s a big chunk of yourself in there.

 

J-Do you plot or outline when writing?

 

M-Yes, always! Before I start any new book, I always write a page(ish) long summary of the characters and plot. For MISSING PIECES, that’s all I used, although the original ending changed four times. My second novel, the YA sci-fi I recently finished polishing, has a more complicated plot, so I drafted out a chapter-by-chapter outline of the whole thing before I started; otherwise, I’d never be able to keep track of everything.

 

J-Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?

 

M-Always! In fact, it’s nearly impossible for me to write without music. I usually make a playlist for each story I’m working on, and listen to it while I’m writing or editing it. I’m planning on putting up a blog post with my whole playlist for MISSING PIECES, but here are three songs from my list:

Sorrow by The National

Terrible Love by Birdy

Silenced by the Night by Keane

 

Awesome. Thank you Meredith and congratulations on your new release.

You can find Meredith online at the links below.

Website / Blog: http://meredithtate.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormeredithtate
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mltate24
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13491569.Meredith_Tate

Author Pic

You can find me and all my links on my main web page www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

One thought on “Feature February Author Meredith Tate

Leave a Reply

