Feature February Author Katharine Grubb

I’m and pleased to have Katharine Grubb on the blog today. She is one of the first authors I met on Twitter. I joined her group, 10 Minute Novelists on Facebook, that same day where she offers up helpful advice or resources to other authors and writers.

Katharine Grubb

J-Can you tell our audience a little about yourself?

 

K-I am a stay-at-home, homeschooling writer mom with five children between the ages of 9 and 16. I live in Central Massachusetts where I cheer for the Patriots and long for an early spring. I bake all my bread from scratch, I’m left-handed, I really don’t care for animals and I have freakishly thick hair.
 
J-You are a busy woman. What genre do you write and why?
K-I write in a variety of genres. My first book was a romantic comedy and I self-published it. I’m very proud of the success it had. I love comedy and my books will always have humor in them. My second book is non-fiction, a how-to: Write A Novel In 10 Minutes A Day.  I’m also very proud of it because unlike my first book, it was commissioned by a publishing house, which required me to get an agent. The nature of this book— practical help and encouragement is also something I love to do for others. Maybe that’s the homeschooling mother in me talking. 
J-I love it. What is different about your writing style?
K-I’d like to think that my writing style has traces of dry, self-deprecating humor and I LOVE the one-liner. I could write those all day. Even in the non-fiction book, I threw a few jokes in. My thought is everything is better when it’s fun!
J-It is. I love to laugh, even when reading non-fiction. When did you start writing?
K-I’m one of those annoying people who say that they’ve been writing since they were four. It’s true. I wrote about very helpful kittens whose mother had trouble carrying their groceries out the store. That gripping tale led to more stories —in 1977 I was obsessed with Laura Ingalls Wilder and I was sure I could write about my own experiences building a cabin in the American West. Then I totally Lisa Simpsoned it on my high school newspaper and yearbook. I was a writing major in college and failed miserably. It wasn’t until 2013 that I figured out why: I had PTSD. Anxiety and depression from an abusive childhood sounds like a great past for a writer, but it isn’t really. So I went without writing for a good long while. It wasn’t until 2006, when my youngest child was just a few months old, that I decided to write again. That’s when I started setting my timer for ten minutes increments and became the 10 Minute Writer and subsequently, the 10 Minute Novelist.
J-Amazing. Very inspirational that you found a way to get back to writing. What books have you published?
K-My debut romantic comedy, which was a quarterfinalist for the ABNA in 2014, is Falling For Your Madness. The link is here.
Falling For Your Madness Cover KG
The Kindle version is only $.99 through March 1.   Then, my nonfiction book, Write A Novel In 10 Minutes A Day is here. This book will be released March 26, but pre-orders are now available! 
Write a Novel in Ten Minutes Cover KG
J-What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?
K-A typical day for me is up early! I make breakfast for all seven of us, and then make the teenage girls clean up. I get my husband out the door and put my younger three kids on their independent school work. As for me, I get on the treadmill. When I’m done there, I sit the younger three down (the older girls do their high school work independently) and we do our Bible, Poetry, Vocabulary, Science, History and French lesson. Then we all do our own lunch, and the boys have to clean up. The afternoon is spent blogging, writing, marketing my books, taking care of my Facebook group, 10 Minute Novelists, and in between there, I do laundry, bake bread and make dinner. I found that cleaning the kitchen, alone after supper, has a relaxing effect on me. Then I spend the evening reading. I’m kind of a homebody and don’t drive my kids all over creation to take classes. We also do our homeschool co-op on Fridays, clean the house on Saturdays, go to church and watch Patriots football on Sundays. Oh no! Football season is over! What are we going to do now for Sunday afternoon entertainment?
J-Again, you sound like a very busy woman, but I admire your for finding time for your writing even when taking care of everything else. I guess congratulations are in order as far as football goes.What are you reading right now?
K-Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. Whoa. What a book. I’m right in the middle and trying to wrap my brain around it. I love books like this: ones that challenge me as a reader. I want to be a writer like that.
J-That book is on my list. I’ve been wanting to read it for a while. So many books, so little time. What are you working on next?
K-This summer, I’ll be releasing Soulless Creatures which could be considered NA fiction, if NA fiction was ever set in 1986. It’s the story of Roy, a working-class college freshman who takes up his pretentious and wealthy roommate Jonathan’s offer: if Roy can prove he has a soul, then he will win Jonathan’s new car.  I can’t wait for my readers to get it! Then in 2016, I want to write Market Your Book in 10 Minutes A Day and another novel —possibly a thriller.
J-Cool. I love how you are balancing fiction and non-fiction. Soulless Creatures sounds like a comedy in the making. Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?
K-I DO listen to music when I write, but it has to be lyric free. The Piano Guys and Lindsey Stirling have been very helpful in the past. Right now I’m listening to the movie soundtrack station on Pandora. Sometimes, though, the mood of the writing isn’t quite right for the words I’m putting down. For example, you’d think listening to the soundtrack to Downton Abbey would be perfect for this assignment, but it only makes me want to conspire against my sister, dress like a flapper and make a pot of tea.
J-Ha, I love Downton Abbey, but I can see how that could happen. Maybe for writing the thriller. Are you a cat or dog person?
K-This is where you judge me. I am neither. I am highly allergic to animals and I can’t pet them or touch them, or God forbid, get licked by them. My children know the answer to the question of, “can we get a puppy?” is always, “no, but how about a baby sister?”  It is possible to be a writer without a furry muse. And without cigarettes. And without a drug problem. Golly, does this make me sound BORING. 
J-Not at all. I think it makes you sound like a responsible adult who is allergic to animals. In any case, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to join me.
You can find Katharine online at the links below.
Thank you, Katharine. I’ll see you soon.
Author Pic
You can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com
Happy reading.
One thought on “Feature February Author Katharine Grubb

Leave a Reply

