Feature February Author Eeva Lancaster

Eeva Lancaster Author Pic

Today, I am talking with the lovely Eeva Lancaster. We met through a mutual friend, and I immediately joined her group on Google+ Alliance of Self Published Authors.

Alliance Black

J-Eeva, can you tell our readers a little about yourself?

 

E-I was into freelance writing even before I became a self-published author. I still am. I get hired to write articles, blog content, edit, proofread… I maintain several websites, I’ve ghostwritten dozens of books – anything that has to do with writing and eBooks, you’ll find me there. I used to be corporate but I recently quit my job so I’m into freelancing and writing full-time now.

J-What genre do you write and why?

 

E-For now, I write poetry and non-fiction. I have many lessons to share and maybe someone out there is travelling the same path I’ve travelled and would find value in my work.

 

J-That’s great. What is different about your writing style?

 

E-I tell it like it is. I want to inspire and motivate but I also believe that we need to accept the reality of things first before we can do anything about it. I want to name the elephant in the room and remove the mystery. My books are honest to a fault and straight to the point, unlike many non-fiction books that are too idealistic and not applicable to real life at all.

 

J-Excellent. When did you start writing?

 

E-I wrote my first published poetry book 20 years ago. But I didn’t write again until I started freelancing in 2013.

 

J-What books have you published?

E-My first book is a compilation of poems called “In Loving You: A Journey of Love and Self Discovery

In Loving You 2nd Edition Cover

The 2nd book is the first of my Now What? Series. “You’re Getting Married Soon… Now What?” was written for new couples. It’s a list of questions that couples need to discuss before taking their relationship to the next level. See, I believe that the foundation of good relationships is the ability of couples to talk about anything. It minimizes unrealistic expectations and the frustrations that result from it.

Now What Cover JPG

J-Very cool. What is a typical day or week like for you? How do you find time to write?

 

E-My author community, the Alliance, freelance writing projects and my own books take up 80% of my time. I should live on another planet where the days are longer. I’m always pressed for time.

 

J-I can imagine, yet you are always reading something. What are you reading right now?

 

E-I’m reading Awaken from R.E.S Tidmore. It’s part of the review rounds in the Alliance.

Anne Rice’s Prince Lestat is waiting for me on my Kindle. That one is a personal preference and I can’t wait to get to it.

 

J-I love Anne Rice. What are you working on next?

 

E-The 2nd book of my Now What? Series is going to change the lives and mindset of many freelancers. I’m sharing my own experience and clarifying a lot of misconceptions about working from home and making money online. This book will be like a template for everyone who wants to start online freelancing, but don’t know where to start. It will contain proven freelancer websites and strategies that have worked for me.

Now What 1 JPG

“You Want To Be An Online Freelancer… Now What?” will be released first week of March.

 

J-I know quite a few people who will be interested in that book. Are you traditionally published, self-published, or with a vanity press? Why?

 

E-Self-Published. It’s just wonderful that people can easily publish their books nowadays without having to go through traditional publishers. Yes, self-publishing has been getting a bad reputation due to the quality of some of the books being released, but on the other hand, many good writers are also given the opportunity to share their stories and ideas. It’s harder to be a self-published author, but I love the creative freedom that it offers.

 

J-Do you use experiences from your own life in your writing or does it all come from your imagination?

 

E-I use experiences. I’ve been through a lot and there are many lessons that needs to be shared. I write Non-Fiction – I believe that I should be writing about real stuff. Not ideals but real problems and real solutions. Actionable. Realistic. Yeah most of my books will have this tone. They will name the elephant in the room and remove the mystery.

 

J-What is your favorite curse word?

 

E-Errrr…. “F**k!”

 

J-What is your favorite word to use in writing?

 

E-Really and Just are my favorite stress words. I just believe that they are really necessary to stress a point! Hahaha!

 

J-Really true. Haha. Do you Plot or outline when writing?

 

E-Yes, I create an outline… Otherwise, I’ll ramble and lose my train of thought.

 

J-Do you listen to music when writing? Name three songs on your current playlist?

 

E-No, I like the TV to play in the background while I write, but not music. I’ll be singing along with it and it will distract me. I need to hear myself think.Demons and Try are my current favorites.

 

J-I’m the opposite. TV seems to be more distracting for me. Are you a cat or dog person?

 

E-I’m a cat person who love dogs. Big dogs.

 

J-If you had your choice of writing retreat would you choose, a. Villa in Italy, b. Cabin in the woods, c. English estate in Derbyshire (think Pemberly) d. Beach house in the Virgin Islands

 

E-Definitely Beach House in the Virgin Islands. Love the ocean.

 

J-Thank you so much, Eeva, for joining me today. You can find Eeva online at any one of the links below.

Website: http://eevalancaster.weebly.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eevalancaster

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/113202841259064736747/about

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/eevalancaster

Twitter: https://twitter.com/eevalancaster

Author Pic

You can find me online at www.jennifersenhajiauthor.com

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Feature February Author Eeva Lancaster

Leave a Reply

