Writing isn’t always a walk in the park. Or is it…

Park PicI’m a master procrastinator. I can find everything under the sun to do except that which needs to get done. It’s frustrating. I know this about myself, yet I procrastinate about making changes. It’s a vicious cycle.

Over the past few weeks. I’ve been working on my current WIP. When I say working, I mean working through it mentally, but not actually getting words down on paper. I’ve known where this story is going for months, but how to get from point A to point B, has changed several times.

I know, not so deep down, I’m my own worst enemy when it comes to time management. I can do it, I just need to get out of my own way. I love writing, so why does it sometimes feel like such a chore to actually sit at my laptop and write?

Fear. I’ve come to the conclusion it’s fear that keeps the procrastination machine churning. Fear of not writing the best story I can. Fear of not being able to dig deep enough to provoke the emotions in the reader I want. Fear I may not yet have the skill to put the plot running through my head to justice on the page.

So my laptop has rested undisturbed on the table in the corner. What to do?

When I find myself in this situation, a walk in the park seems to do the trick.

I live right next to a park that links up to a beautiful trail which goes on for miles. And every time I take a few minutes, alone, to walk in said park, the inspiration flows. There’s a little pathway, lined with trees on both sides, I love. Beautiful. Serene. Children laugh and squeal on the play-structure to the left and packs of adults play Frisbee-golf to the right. It’s my little pathway of shaded heaven.

It’s on this pathway, alone with my thoughts, ideas and storyline run freely through my mind. I become excited again and eager to write. This is when the magic happens. I sometimes bring a notebook with me, but most of the time, I jot down notes in my phone so I won’t forget.

So, if you’re feeling stuck; avoiding your computer and/or otherwise getting in your own way, take a walk in the park. I think the key is undisturbed alone time, free of distractions. Don’t walk to the park, sit down, and proceed to spend another hour on social media. Focus on your characters and the scenes you want to develop. Ask yourself what their motivation is, why they are doing X when they should be doing Y. Put yourself in the shoes of the protagonist and antagonist and flesh out their backstory.

Don’t be afraid. Write down all those ideas that stroll through your mind before you forget them.

How do you motivate yourself into action? How do you end procrastination?

Author PicI was born and raised in San Francisco, CA, and have a husband and two children. Music is an addiction. I can often be found in the car, singing along at the top of my lungs to whatever is playing. I work full time, and I split my spare time between family, reading, blogging, and writing. I’m a habitual quoter. Lines from films and TV shows constantly pop into my head—my kids are the only ones that really get it. I’m an only child, and so of course I married a man who is one of ten children. Other than English, I speak Spanish, Moroccan, and a little French. I love to travel, but don’t do enough of it. Reading has been a passion for most of my life and I now love writing. I’m klutz, and in my own mind, I’m hilarious.

Find me at http://www.yoursweetandspicyromanceauthor.com/

Signup to join My Dream Team: http://eepurl.com/bjAzz1

 

Leave a Reply

