Sucked Into a Vortex

Sucked Into a Vortex

I used to be a bi-weekly blogger, posting every Monday and every Wednesday, on two different blogs. One, dedicated to Romance for Real Life; the other to Exploring the Art of Writing and Self-Publishing. Both blogs feed into my website, which I also update regularly. Oh, and once a month, I posted on the Writing Wenches Blog in addition to guest posting on other blogs when time permitted.

But it’s been three months since I’ve been really active on any of them. Oh yeah, there have been a couple posts here and there announcing new releases by writers in my community, but my own posts have fallen by the wayside.

Why?

The craft vortex has sucked me in. No, I don’t mean the kind of crafts that others get lost in; making doodads for family members, scrapbooking, or shabby-chic home décor. I’m talking about writing. The beauty that is the written word.

Let me backtrack for a moment…

After my last novel, Choosing to Dream, was released, I took a big break from marketing and writing. It’s the exact opposite of what you’re “supposed” to do: Keep the momentum going. Get the book in front of readers. Sell, sell, sell.

Nope. After my release I pretty much collapsed into a heap of “I don’t wanna,” and took a break. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing. I love the writing community. I love seeing my books in print. My stomach flutters every time I hear someone has read my book(s).

But there was something about my last book that sucked the motivation right out of me. Maybe it was because I worked so much harder on it than my previous books? Maybe it was because I have a high-stress day job? I’m not even really sure. But there you have it; I retreated, overwhelmed.

Once I got over my exhaustion, I focused all of my extra time and energy on learning how to take my writing to the next level. I’m one of those people who knows a little about a lot, but I’m not an expert on anything. I am, however, a quick learner, and someone who always wants to be the best at whatever it is I’m doing. This includes any of the number of jobs I’ve had. From the hotel and restaurant business to my career in escrow, and all the weird jobs in between, I’ve always strived to be the best line-cook, bartender, hotel/restaurant manager, smoothie-maker, receptionist, waitress, and/or escrow officer I can be.

Writing is something that’s extremely important to me. I’m a veracious reader, which is exactly how I got sucked into the vortex of writing craft. I’ve found excellent resources—follow me on Twitter if you’re interested as I share often—to help me level-up my writing: Podcasts, blogs, broadcasts on Periscope, YouTube, and Blab, along with my writing gurus and writing community, have fed and continue to feed my appetite for knowledge. I binge on these lessons, taking notes and more notes, mentally plotting for hours on end how to use these lessons in my own writing.

The result: I’m writing my third novel. The stakes are high. Will I be able to incorporate all the beautiful techniques I’ve learned and continue to learn into my current story? I don’t know. It’s my biggest fear. It’s terrifying and exciting all at the same time. But I’m writing. I’m doing it. I’ve departed the procrastination station and have commenced my journey into the scary realm of better writing. I’ll still Tweet and Facebook and blog occasionally, but my main focus is exploring the rich land of well written words and how to use them to knock the socks of my readers. It’s an endless paradise.

If you’re looking for me, I’ll be there. Don’t worry, I’ll check in now and again. Feel free to check in with me too, once in a while. Heaven knows I have to leave the cave at some point.

Have you ever felt like going off the grid? Turning off all social media and mobile devices? What would it be like to leave the house without a cell phone? The only time I’ve ever completely unplugged was when traveling abroad. It was fantastic. Freeing. Not at all realistic for me on a daily basis, but still…

If you’re reading this you’re either some kind of voodoo psychic or you’re still plugged in. But could you unplug? Have you ever tried it? What was your experience?

Author Pic

I was born and raised in San Francisco, CA, and have a husband and two children. Music is an addiction. I can often be found in the car, singing along at the top of my lungs to whatever is playing. I work full time, and I split my spare time between family, reading, blogging, and writing. I’m a habitual quoter. Lines from films and TV shows constantly pop into my head—my kids are the only ones that really get it. I’m an only child, and so of course I married a man who is one of ten children. Other than English, I speak Spanish, Moroccan, and a little French. I love to travel, but don’t do enough of it. Reading has been a passion for most of my life and I now love writing. I’m klutz, and in my own mind, I’m hilarious.

Find me at http://www.yoursweetandspicyromanceauthor.com/

Signup to join My Dream Team: http://eepurl.com/bjAzz1

Find me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jsenhaji13

Find me on Twitter at https://twitter.com/jsenhaji13

Blog: http://jennifersenhaji.blogspot.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/jennifersenhaji

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Jsenhaji

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/author/jennifersenhaji

WordPress https://jsenhaji13.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

